Remembering the final 5 winners of the World Cup Golden Boot


The FIFA World Cup is certainly one of sport’s biggest spectacles and every version sees the planet’s finest skills compete to be topped world champions.

Making an influence at a World Cup can cement a participant’s place within the sport’s historical past and the Golden Boot is among the many most coveted particular person honours of every event.

Some of soccer’s best have claimed the award throughout previous editions and we’ve determined to look again at among the fashionable winners.


Here are the final 5 winners of the World Cup Golden Boot.

Harry Kane (2018)

Harry Kane shall be hoping to change into the primary participant to win back-to-back World Cup Golden Boots when England journey to Qatar this winter, having claimed the prize through the Three Lions’ run to the semi-finals in 2018.

Kane ensured England’s marketing campaign in Russia bought off to a successful begin with a brace towards Tunisia, along with his double together with a stoppage-time winner for Gareth Southgate’s aspect.

The ahead hit a hat-trick within the following fixture as Panama have been thrashed 6-1, earlier than scoring his sixth of the event with a penalty within the last-16 win over Colombia.

Kane completed two targets forward of nearest challengers Antoine Griezmann and Romelu Lukaku, turning into simply the second English participant – after Gary Lineker in 1986 – to win a World Cup Golden Boot.

James Rodriguez (2014)

James Rodriguez emerged as one of many stars of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, scoring six targets in 5 matches as Colombia reached the quarter-finals.

The midfielder scored in every of Colombia’s video games throughout their run to the final eight, netting towards Greece, Ivory Coast and Japan because the South Americans progressed to the knockout rounds as group winners.

Rodriguez then lit up his aspect’s last-16 conflict with Uruguay, scoring twice – together with a shocking volley which was named as Goal of the Tournament and gained FIFA’s Puskas Award – earlier than a comfort penalty in defeat to Brazil took his whole to 6.

Rodriguez’s performances captured the eye of Europe’s elite with Real Madrid securing his signing from Monaco for a price of £63m following the event. The price made the Colombian the fourth most costly footballer ever at the moment.

Thomas Muller (2010)

Thomas Muller burst onto the scene on the 2010 World Cup, with the Germany ahead successful each the Golden Boot and Best Young Player Award in South Africa.

Muller had by no means scored for the nationwide workforce heading into his first World Cup event, however netted 5 instances through the German’s run to the semi-finals.

The 20-year-old netted in Germany’s opening group sport towards Australia, earlier than starring through the 4-1 destruction of England within the last-16 with a three-minute brace.

He scored once more as Argentina have been thrashed 4-0 within the final eight, earlier than registering his fifth of the event with a purpose within the third-place play-off win over Uruguay.

Muller ended the event degree on 5 targets with David Villa and Wesley Sneijder, although scooped the Golden Boot after contributing extra assists with three in whole.

Miroslav Klose (2006)

Miroslav Klose is the World Cup’s all-time report goalscorer, having scored 16 targets throughout 4 totally different tournaments.

Having impressed throughout a breakthrough event in Japan and South Korea 4 years earlier, Klose completed because the main scorer on residence soil as Germany hosted the 2006 version.

He scored braces in group stage wins over Costa Rica and Ecuador, earlier than heading residence his fifth of the event with an important equaliser as Argentina have been crushed on penalties within the quarter-finals.

Germany’s run ended within the final 4, although Klose’s targets have been sufficient to seal the Golden Boot. He completed two targets forward of a bunch of gamers that included Ronaldo, Hernan Crespo, Thierry Henry and Zinedine Zidane.

Ronaldo (2002)

Ronaldo’s redemption on the 2002 World Cup is without doubt one of the nice event tales, with the long-lasting Brazilian ahead having bounced again from his nightmare 4 years earlier and career-threatening accidents to fireside Brazil to success.

Ronaldo had suffered a seizure on the eve of Brazil’s closing defeat to France in 1998, ultimately taking his place within the aspect however trying a shadow of the participant whose performances earned him the Golden Ball accolade.

Four years later and after lacking the qualification interval resulting from critical knee issues, he returned in Japan and South Korea to cement his standing as one of many sport’s greats, scoring eight targets.

Ronaldo’s return stays the best in a single World Cup marketing campaign throughout the previous 50 years, along with his crowning second coming within the closing as he scored each targets in a 2-0 win over Germany.

His performances earned him a 3rd FIFA World Player of the Year award and the Ballon d’Or, alongside a big-money transfer to Real Madrid.

Read – Iconic Performances: The night Zinedine Zidane dominated Brazil

Read Also – Iconic Performances: Fabio ‘The Berlin Wall’ Cannavaro in the 2006 World Cup semi-final

Subscribe to our social channels:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

The submit Remembering the last five winners of the World Cup Golden Boot first appeared on The Football Faithful. Source –

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More